Things to Love About Summer: Fireworks

Image courtesy of Wikipedia

I was at a beach fire last night and, as is tradition when it gets close to July 4th, there were fireworks dueling from different points of the beach and cove, each pyrotechnic trying to out do the next.  Let me tell you, for the casual observer this is a real treat.  Fireworks are one of my absolute favorite things, and I never miss an opportunity to watch them.

When I was a kid, I hated the loud noise they made, but I knew that I had to put up with it if I wanted to see them sparkle.  We would go down to the local golf course and watch the fireworks…I also remember that they had 10 cent hot dogs, so I would stuff myself silly.

When I was in Vancouver a couple of summers ago, I even went to the Celebration of Light, aka the World Championship of fireworks!  It’s a three week series that pits teams of pyros from around the world against each other.  The night I was in town was Team China.  We could see the whole show from the balcony of our hotel, and each blast and boom was better than the next.

Last year, I saw the fireworks put on by my hometown, Lowell, for the 4th of July.  They hadn’t had them for a few years due to budget cuts, but a private donor stepped up, and definitely did not disappoint!  The show filled up the entire sky and seemed like it was never going to end.  It was pretty magical.

This year, I don’t have any big plans for fireworks shows, but I do plan on having a lot of sparklers handy come July 4th!  These are perhaps my favorite, because you can hold them in your hands and create your own magic.  What’s not to love?

Are there any memorable fireworks performances you’ve been to?  Are you planning on seeing any good ones tomorrow?  Share in the comments!

xoxo, Karoline

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Vous avez de bons points il, c’est pourquoi j’aime toujours verifier votre blog, Il semble que vous etes un expert dans ce domaine. maintenir le bon travail, Mon ami recommander votre blog.

    Mon francais n’est pas tres bon, je suis de l’Allemagne.

    Mon blog:
    Meilleur Taux ou Rachat De Credit pour fonctionnaire

    Reply

Leave a Reply

