My Dog is the Worst Feminist Ever!

This past February, my family welcomed a two-year-old retired show dog, Madison, into our home. My mom, sister, and I were all excited–we were expecting a real girl’s girl, a dog who loved to be pampered and hang out with the women in her life. Oh, how we were wrong!

Cute, yes, but hopelessly sexist. © Chris Zacharer 2011

Turns out Maddy couldn’t care less about us girls. Honestly, if the three of us happened to magically dissappear overnight, I don’t think she’d care one bit. Madison has a distinct affection for the men of the house: my two brothers and my dad–but most of all my brother Tom. The two are practically attached. We call him her boyfriend.

I joked to my mom one day that I can’t wait till they breakup. I’ll swoop in and be her shoulder to cry on. But alas, I don’t think they ever will. It’s kinda sad. True story: I call her and she runs to him. So. Not. Fair.

A rare moment of female bonding. © Chris Zacharer 2011

It’s not that she doesn’t like me (she spends roughly 10 minutes with me every day), she just prefers the boys. She gives up whatever she’s doing–napping, playing with toys, generally being adorable, being petted by any member of the female sex–at the moment a boy/man comes into the room. It’s crazy.

Anyone have some tips on how I can convert my dog to my team?

Also, my crazy family and I started a twitter of Maddy’s “thoughts”. Give her a follow if you want :)

xoxo, Karoline

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Jen

     /  July 8, 2011

    hahah K I love your blog!!!

    Reply
  2. Aunt Jane

     /  July 8, 2011

    Karoline

    This is a battle I have been fighting for six years. Julie our border collie likes me she even tolerates me but the love of her life is Tim. She drops anything to be next to him, she always is offering him her belly to rub while I always get the rear. I have learned to stop fighting it I let the two of them have as many moments as they want and let them spend quiet time alone. She knows that I am the treat giver so I do get my moments that is until the treat is finished. Karoline I understand wish I had some advice to offer other then enjoy her nothing greater then a dog in your life.

    Reply
  1. A good dog. « Karoline With a "K"
  2. I’m back from vacation! | Karoline With a "K"

Leave a Reply

