Do We Have Time for Another Social Network? The Pro’s and Con’s of Google+

I got my invite to join the beta-test of Google+ on Friday night.  After reading all week about the good things the site had to offer, I figured I’d bite the bullet and start shopping around for an invite.  I did a little quick Facebook research to find out which of my friends were using the service.  I sent a few messages, and the next thing I knew, I had a shiny Google+ invite sitting pretty in my inbox.

Right from the get-go, Google+ impressed me with it’s flexibility in terms of sharing information.  It allows you to arrange your friends and connections into “circles” that make it so easy to pick and choose exactly who you want your information and updates to be shared with.  One of my absolute favorite things is that I can write a basic update (like a Facebook status or a tweet), but instead of having every single person I’m connected to see it (like on Twitter or Facebook) I can specify exactly who I want to see it.  Before posting, it forces you to choose the circles or individuals I want to share with.

A definite con, however, that I’ve noticed about Google+ is that it doesn’t have a feature like Facebook’s “Wall”.  I really wish there was a way for me to post a message onto a person’s profile, I don’t like that even though I might make a message or update visible only to one person, it still gets mixed up in my main feed of updates.

So far, that’s about as far as I’ve gotten with the service.  I know that there are “hangouts”, where you can have group-video chats.  This is a feature that I can not wait to test-drive.  The fact that Google+ can do multi-person video calls, in my opinion, blows Skype out of the water and will definitely give Facebook a run for its money.

Google+...will it catch on?

Because the service is still in beta testing, it’s available to a very limited number of people.  As of right now, it’s invite-only from current users.  So, if you think Google+ is something you might want to try out, you may want to cozy up to the people you know who are already using it–hint hint, I’ll be taking cash bribes ;)

One question I ask, however, is do we have time for another social network?  I know that, for me, Facebook and Twitter already take up a lot of my time…on top of blogging, email, and random internet surfing.  As of right now, Google+ doesn’t really seem to be that much of a time-kill, but as more and more of my friends join, I’m not too sure how true that will be.

Will Google+ suck us all in like Facebook and Twitter before us?  Or will it remain a more genteel and easy place to share info with friends?  Only time will tell.

Are you on Google+ yet?  What are your thoughts so far?

xoxo, Karoline

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. shuggie

     /  July 10, 2011

    I pretty much agree with everything you’ve said, apart from I don’t really miss FB’s ‘wall’ – I never really got that anyway. In fact I’m quite ambivalent to FB in general, but it’s the de facto standard and everyone’s on it. If/when enough people are on Google+ I’ll quite happily drop FB – so I guess I do have enough time!

    Reply
  2. I think there’s definitely room for another social network, but people will end up spending less time on Facebook and Twitter. I don’t miss the Wall much. As far as I can tell, the Wall is useful only for wishing people happy birthday.

    Reply
  3. Sue Zacharer

     /  July 11, 2011

    Does Google+ allow you to share pictures with your circle of friends?

    Reply
    • Yes! I haven’t posted any pictures to it yet, but it does allow you to put up pictures both individually and in albums.

      Reply
  4. I think Google+ will put up a good fight… I like how it integrates with the e-mail. (I dont know why the post showed up as Neil)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

