Bye Bye, Beach House

My favorite place on Earth is the house my family stays at in Maine. I’m not too big on goodbyes to begin with, so having to say goodbye to Maine and our beach every summer is especially hard. It’s a special place and everyone here shares a special bond with both the beach and the house.

Simply heaven.

Saying bye to the beach is a long process. There’s packing up all the bags…making sure we leave with everything we came with. Then there’s tidying up the house…sweeping, dusting, cleaning. There’s the goodbyes we have to say to our beach friends.

And finally, there’s the goodbye to the beach. Everyone heads down from the lawn and onto the sand one last time, climbing on all the rocks, inspecting the tide pools, coming the stretch of sand one last time for sea glass and cool looking rocks and shells. What I like to do last is dip my feet in the Atlantic one last time. I know that leaving Maine isn’t going to be the last time I’ll see the ocean this summer, but it’s the last time I’ll see it here. It’s definitely sad.

These are exactly the things I’ll be doing today. My family and I have been on vacation here in Maine for the last few weeks, and we’re finally headed home. I don’t want to say goodbye, but I’ve packed up a bunch of good memories to last me through the winter.

Do you have a place that’s particularly hard to say goodbye to? Is there a specific place that defines summer for you?

xoxo, Karoline

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

