So I’ve Been Missing le Tour de France. And It’s Killing Me!

When I was on vacation, I was unable to watch le Tour de France on TV.  I followed it here and there on the internet, but it’s just not the same.  I don’t get the magic of Phil Liggett and Paul Sherwin’s witty banter as they narrate the race.  I don’t get to see the pelotons, crashes, and breakaways.  And tweets and blog posts can only go so far towards satiating my obsession with the TdF.

Here is what I understand about the race so far: (keep in mind I stopped following it back at Stage 4, when I got bored with internet coverage)  There have been a lot of crashes so far, Mark Cavendish is expected to win a lot of stages, and Tyler Farrar was the first American to ever win a stage on the 4th of July.  As you can see, I don’t know much.

One other thing I know, thanks to my sister who was watching yesterday, is that my favorite rider, Peter Velits, is currently in 7th place.  I don’t think I can tell you all how happy this makes me.  I’ve been following Peter’s career since he was first signed to a pro-tour team with his twin brother, Martin.  My sister and I are the Velits’ biggest fans, and keep track of all their progress.  We even friended them on Facebook.  When my sister was in Austria this month, she actually met Martin.  I was so jealous, because we had each picked a “favorite” twin, and she met hers.

My boy, Peter. Image courtesy of CyclingNews

Anywayyy, I’m rambling.  Peter is in 7th, and they’re heading into the mountains today, so that means (hopefully) that he’s only going to do better.  He’s really good in the mountains.  Other riders I’ll be rooting for include the entire Leopard Trek and HTC Columbia teams, and Tommy Voeckeler who just happens to be the current yellow jersey wearer.

I’m heading downstairs to flip the channel Versus right now, and I’ll continue my love for le Tour.  It’s going to be tough playing catch-up since I’ve already missed half the race, but it’ll be fun.

Any cycling fans out there?  What have you thought of le Tour so far?

xoxo, Karoline

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

