“Harry Potter” from a Non-Reader’s Perspective

My family is divided half-and-half. Half of us have read the Harry Potter books, and half of us have not. I fall into the latter category. I remember receiving Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone as a birthday present when I was 9 or 10, and I gave it a good, honest try. However, the book failed to suck me into its world of enchantment like it did for millions of other kids my age.

image ©Warner Bros and all other affiliates parties

I’ve never been one for fantasy; I guess I just like my stories to be a little more realistic. While I was reading Judy Blume novels, my sister was obsessed with J.K. Rowling’s world of witchcraft and wizardry. I accompanied her and my mom to all of the midnight book releases, went to the opening-night screenings of the films, and bought her Potter-related paraphernalia for birthdays and Christmas.

But don’t get me wrong, I’m not a Harry-hater. Not my any measure. I, too, am fascinated by the story of “the boy who lived”…but more from an outsider’s curious perspective. I realize that because I haven’t read the books I can’t fully understand every little story and plot line that weaves through the saga. But it doesn’t mean I’m disinterested. I just wasn’t able to get through the books like so many of my peers.

Our friend Katie, Johannah, and I on the night of the 6th book's premiere

The other evening, I accompanied my dad and two younger brothers to see the last Potter film, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2. I was blown away by it. I am totally not afraid to admit that I was swept up by the magic and spectacle of Harry Potter. What I don’t like, however, is that people look down on me (and a lot of other people like me) because I’m so willing to take part in Potter-mania (going to the midnight book releases, watching the movies) without ever having cracked any of the books after Sorcerer’s Stone. For example, when one of my brothers asked the other a question about the movie last night, instead of offering a constructive answer and explaining what had happened, he said “should have read the book”.

Have you seen the latest Harry Potter movie? What did you think?

xoxo, Karoline

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I feel the same way. I tried to read the first book and got about half-way through and was bored. I’ve loved all the movies, though. My wife has read all of the books several times, though. And definitely there was a lot of pressure at the turn of the millennium to have read the books. Now I think it’s actually okay for us closeted non-HP-readers to come out of the closet!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

