Book Review: “Home: A Memoir of My Early Years”

I recently finished Julie Andrew’s glowing memoir, Home: A Memoir of My Early Years.  I was blown away by it.  Julie has the most unique writing style I think I’ve ever encountered.  She somehow manages to write as if she’s speaking to you, but it makes perfect sense.  When I was reading the book, her soothing voice was literally in my head the entire time, reading each word!

I liked the book because she was so honest about her home and professional life as a child and young adult.  I had never known, and I guess never expected, that she came from a difficult up-bringing.  She grew up in England’s vaudeville scene, but her life at home was unhappy, and she had to deal with the alcoholism and fighting between her mother and stepfather.

It’s clear that Julie was extremely talented from a young age.  I found it remarkable that she has been working as a performer since she was 10!  That’s a very, very long time to be doing any job.  She tells the reader of all her experiences traveling around England with her parents to perform in shows, until she is 19 and travels to New York to start her Broadway career.

The story ends right before Julie is about to start her film career, and I really hope that she pens another memoir, so that I can read about her time with The Sound of Music and Mary Poppins.  I’m also curious as to how she met her second husband, Blake Edwards, and why she and her first husband, Tony, broke up.

Overall, I’d give the book an “A”.  It was engaging, informative, and Julie has a quiet, subtle humor that keeps the book flowing nicely.  If you happen to be hitting up the Borders liquidation sale, I’d definitely recommend you pick up a copy!

Have you read “Home”?  Are you a big Julie Andrews fan, and might give it a go now?

Also, click the “Reading List” tab up top!  I’ve changed it from “Summer Reading 2011” because, to be quite honest, I don’t think I’m going to be able to get through that many books this summer (but I can try!).  Under that tab, you can see the books I’ve reviewed, the books I’m currently reading, and the books I want to read.  Check it out :)

xoxo, Karoline

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Summer Reading: The summer of non-fiction « Karoline With a "K"

Leave a Reply

