On No Longer Being a Picky Eater

Image courtest PBS Nova

I was eating lunch yesterday, when I strted to think very hard about what I was actually eating.  I had chicken stir-fry with broccoli, snow peas, mushrooms, and carrots in it.  And that’s when I realized…I wouldn’t have been eating this even a year ago.  You know how kids can be finicky eaters?  I was definitely up there with the worst of them for a large portion of my life.  I’ve always preferred dessert to the actual meal, don’t like cold food (except for certain things), and condiments just flat-out gross me out.

Well, in recent years I’ve come into a sort of food renaissance and it’s amazing!  There are so many delicious things out there that I was afraid to try.  I’ve definitely become more adventurous in my foodie adventures, and it’s great because it helps me eat healthier.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a health nut, and my no means will I try anything.  I still can’t stand tomatoes, onions, and anything with pickles.

image: thenewwellness.com

image: thenewwellness.com

For instance, when I was a kid there was NO WAY you were going to get me to eat anything even remotely close to the color green.  But today?  I list asparagus, spinach, broccoli, and edamame right up there with some of my favorite foods.  The greens are kind of a new discovery for me, in that I didn’t have the guts to try them till college.  Case-in-point, I tried broccoli for the first time simce I was 10 last month, and now I’m hooked!  Whenever there’s an option to have it in one of my meals at school, I go for it.

And don’t even get me started on Sushi!  I started eating it last year, and I’ve been addicted ever since.  Literally any chance I get to order it, I will.  If you had told 10-year-old Karoline that cold, raw fish was going to be my favorite food, she would have laughed in your face.  My personal philosophy is that there’s never a bad time for sushi.

BEYOND obsessed. image: how2heroes.com

I do still enjoy my favorite indulgences, though.  I’ll still eat ice cream well into the winter months, and my mom’s chocolate chip cookies are a national treasure as far as I’m concerned.  And don’t for get pumpkin bread…

Were/Are you a picky eater?  What are some of your favorite “new” foods?

xoxo, Karoline

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Cate H.

     /  October 26, 2011

    I was sort of picky, sort of not. When I was a kid, I loved LIVER and onions. I’m serious. My favorite meal was corned beef and cabbage and I would be beyond stoked when I knew my mom was making it for dinner. As for now? I’ll try anything. I LOVE food. The weirder it looks, the more curious I am to try it. :)

    Reply
  2. My 18 year old daughter is extremely picky. She’s slowly trying new things, but she never likes them. Though a couple Easter’s ago, she discovered that she really likes ham. I hope that her desire to eat healthier actually lends to her palate “growing up”. ; )

    Reply
  3. I apparently ate just about anything when I was a toddler. Once I hate age five, I just got pickier and pickier every year. I haven’t had quite the awakening you’ve had, but I do think my repertoire has widened slightly over the years.

    Basically, I love desserts (dim sum for me is almost entirely desserts), carbs (bread, toast, crackers), lactose (cheese, milk, ice cream), and fruits (with the exception of grapefruit and blueberries). Veggies are cool (except cauliflower). For simplicity’s sake, I usually say I’m vegetarian, but I don’t like pickled foods, spicy food, or curry, so a lot of “vegetarian” cuisines just don’t do it for me. Basically, non-meat Italian food is the way to go for me.

    Glad to hear your story. There may be hope for picky eaters after all!

    Reply
  4. I am an extremely picky eater.

    Mi mamá solia tratar de hacerme comer cosas nuevas pero hace tiempo que se rindió. Yo soy muy terca y no como nada que no me guste.

    A veces quisiera no ser tan quisquillosa, pero es algo que no puedo cambiar :(

    Reply
  1. A year ago toady… « Karoline With a "K"

Leave a Reply

