How to beat a case of the “Mondays”

It happens to the best of us.  You have a nice, relaxing weekend…hanging out with friends and family, catching up on shows you missed during the week, watching football.  But then Sunday night rolls around and you start to think of all the work you have to do in the coming week.  You go to bed wishing that you could just fast forward to Thursday.  Then, you wake up Monday morning and you really don’t feel motivated at all to get on with your life.  Yeah…we’ve all been there.

However, there are several great mood-busters I use and I think they could help you, too!

I love singing and dancing around my dorm room!

1. Music, music, music!  I suggest something that you can easily dance to.  Every morning before class, my roommate plays fun music while she gets ready.  Oftentimes, we have mini dance parties in the room.  It’s a great way to start the morning with plenty of giggles!  My roommate usually plays top-40, but might I suggest the 80’s Pop Pandora station?

Heaven in a cup. (image: dietsinreview.com)

2. Coffee!  I know I’m not the only caffeine fiend out there!  One of my favorite ways to start my week is with a pumpkin spice latte from my campus Starbucks.  It’s filled with pumpkin-y, cinnamon-y, espresso-y goodness!  If pumpkin isn’t your thing, though, you can always stick to regular coffee or lattes.  Anything to give you that extra boost!

wearing bright colors always gets me excited!

3. Wear a favorite outfit.  One universal truth I’ve found in life is that you feel so much better about yourself when you’re wearing an outfit that you love.  Personally, I like to save these outfits for two kinds of days:  ones I know are going to be really great, and ones that I’m not too sure about.  For the days that I already am pumped for, it adds to my excitement; on days that I’m not too pumped for, wearing a favorite outfit gives me extra motivation to make it great.  So, don’t just save your lucky shirt for special occasions…bust it out on those Mondays where you just don’t want to get out of bed!

4. Surround yourself with people who love you. When I’m having a bummer day, I make sure I hang out and talk with people who make me feel better.  It’s a short list that includes my roommate and best friends, friends, I miss from home, and my parents and siblings.  Just talking to any of these people can instantly make my mood go from a 4 to a 10!

What do you do to cure cases of the “Mondays”?  Share your tips below!

xoxo, Karoline

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

