Goal of the month: read more

"Young Girl Reading" by Jean-Honore Fragonard

Rabbit, rabbit, rabbit!  Instead of a hard to keep New Year’s resolution, this year I’ve decided to set smaller, much more achievable monthly goals for myself.  Last month, one of my goals was to start waking up earlier.  I’ve been doing pretty well and waking up at 7:30 or 8 on most weekday mornings.

This month, I want to read more for fun.  Since I’ve gotten to college, I’ve noticed that I do a lot less reading for myself.  I always bring lots of books along to school with me, but I rarely get around to actually reading them.  So, because I wake up earlier, I want to spend that extra time I have in the morning getting lost in a book.  Usually, as soon as I wake up, my first instinct is to reach for my iPhone and surf the internet for a little while or to play a game.  I want to change that into something productive.  Goal for February: spend one hour each morning reading.

I have three books lined up that I want to read, but I’m hoping that I’ll get through all three of them.

The first is Mockingjay, the 3rd book in the Hunger Games series.  I’ve already started it, but I’m only a few chapters in and I really want to know what happens next.  Have any of you read these books?  They’re downright addicting!

Next up, is Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote.  The movie has always been one of my favorites (helloooo…anything with Audrey in it is!), but I’ve always wanted to read the novella too.  Fortunately, one of my friends just had to read it for their English classes, and they’re letting me borrow it now that they’re done with it.  I can not wait to read about Holly Golightly!

The third book I hope to finish by the end of the month is one that I just picked up on a whim at the library last night.  It’s called A Century of Parks Canada 1911-2011.  It was on display in the New Arrivals section of the BSU library, and it caught my eye because as you may or may not know, I’m kind of obsessed with Canada.  After I graduated from high school, my cousins took me on an amazing trip through the Canadian Rockies and we explored the amazing Banff, Jasper, and Vancouver Island national parks.  This book is a rather ambitious goal (380+ pages!), but I’m excited about it.  I’ve recently discovered a love of non-fiction literature, so I’m hoping that this won’t read too much like a textbook.

Have you read any of these books?  What did you think?  Also, are you going to set any goals for the month?  Leave it in the comments!

xoxo, Karoline

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

