The Driver’s License Chronicles (part 1)

My name is Karoline, and I don’t have a drivers license. Yes, I know that I’m a 20-year-old adult who should have one. Thing is, I’ve gotten along on public transportation and rides from family and friends for so long that it’s been possible to avoid getting one. However, this summer my family is making me get my license. Yeah, I’m a little scared, but it’s something I realize I have to do.

image via jeepcheap.com

My dad recently got a Jeep Wrangler, so added to my challenge of learning to drive is learning to drive a standard. Luckily, my boyfriend graciously and patiently gave me some lessons this past semester, so I’ve got a bit of a heads up on the whole “driving a stick-shift” thing. But, I am still unsure on when to switch gears and such. Not to mention learning all of the rules of the road. It’s definitely going to be a big learning curve.

image via ga.gov

First step on my journey to becoming a licensed driver? I have to get a learner’s permit. I originally got one a way long time ago when I turned 16, however it expired on my 18th birthday. So, I need to get a new one. From what I understand, the test to get a permit is harder now than it was four years ago. I’m going to need to study. Luckily, Massachusetts has the whole drivers manual online so I can learn everything I need to know before I go in for the test.

Wish me luck!

xoxo, Karoline

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Laurie Beth Harris

     /  June 5, 2012

    I’m really impressed that you’re learning to drive on a manual! That’s kind of crazy.

    Reply
    • Well, my mom isn’t letting us drive her car, so it’s all I’ve got to work with! I think it’s going to be interesting. Bright side–I can at least get the car moving without stalling!

      Reply
  2. Becca Abi-Saad

     /  June 5, 2012

    i’m right there with you girl :p

    Reply
  3. Aunt Jane

     /  June 6, 2012

    Katoline like you I was a late bloomer when it came to driving……it is well worth it………and now I drive a Ford F150 truck who would have thunk!!

    Reply
  1. Hat & Drink #photoadayjune « Karoline With a "K"
  2. A year ago toady… « Karoline With a "K"

Leave a Reply

