Minor league baseball and me

304597_4532296785882_635618077_n

Splash! My last-ever day of work at the Spinners. {via}

Fan Friday came at a really convenient time for me. Tonight, I’m going to my first Lowell Spinners game as a fan in eight years. Yeah. Saying I’m excited for it would be an understatement. Here’s why:

I was five years old when the Spinners came to town. I still remember my first game with my parents and the old Caligator prints that were painted on sidewalks downtown to promote the team. I was instantly hooked. A life-long love of baseball was formed. In the years that came, my family got season tickets, and I went to countless games, eating countless hot dogs, begging for baseballs off the players, and yelling so loud that my voice would go hoarse. It was my favorite part of summer for years.

Somewhere along the way, little kid me got it in her head that working at the Spinners was her dream job. So, when I was 14 I applied. And I got the job. That’s right…I realized my life goal at 14. Whoops. I would later go on to write my college admissions essay about this, but I digress.

I worked in souvenirs at the ballpark for two summers and it was pretty fun, but I definitely wasn’t living the dream. Then, right before my third summer was about to start, I got a call from my boss asking me if I wanted to do on-field promotions. Um….that actually was my dream job as a kid. So, of course my answer was YES! I then proceeded to dance around the house for 5 or so minutes. So, my job for the next five years was basically to do the chicken dance and Cotton Eyed Joe with little kids every night. It was a blast. I also got to flirt with cute ballplayers, which to 16, 17, 18, and 19-year-old Karoline was probably the best job perk imaginable. Working at the Spinners was always a highlight of my summer, and it was rare that I came home from work unhappy. I truly loved what I did.

Maybe little-kid me was actually onto something: working at the Spinners helped make me realize that I want to work in sports as an adult. I don’t really have a “dream job” anymore per se, but I don’t think the goal has strayed that far off.

Aside from giving me the best dream job that I could ever dream up, the Spinners gave me a life-long love of sports. I loved minor league baseball so much that during my junior year of college, I wrote for SoxProspects.com, a site that specializes in the Red Sox farm system. Fun fact: I might not be with Matt if not for my love of the Spinners–on the night we met, I hooked him in conversation with my dazzling knowledge of baseball. True story.

This is my first summer that I’m not working there. And it is going to be so weird walking into that ballpark tonight as a fan. I think it’s hard to make that adjustment, but I’m excited to just relax and enjoy the show, too. I’m taking my dad as a belated Father’s Day gift, cause we haven’t been to a game just him and me since I was a really young. I think that the same summer magic that was there when I was a kid will still be around. I can’t wait to feel it.

Have a great weekend, everyone! Does anyone have any awesome plans?

Oh, and HAPPY SUMMER!!!!

signature

Today I’m linking up with Sarah for Fan Friday!

Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. maczac

     /  June 21, 2013

    I’m looking foreward to it too, Ka!

    Reply
  2. BUT WHYYYY are you not going to work there this summer? Great post as usual. Can’t wait to read more from you. You are quickly becoming my favorite fan friday post to read. (shhh don’t tell the other girls that!) hehe jk jk

    Reply
    • THANK YOU!! You are the sweetest. I’m not there anymore because I didn’t really want to have a “summer” job after I graduated…I’m trying to find a real world job!

      Reply
  3. Sue Zacharer

     /  June 21, 2013

    Well, you already know that I am a fan of your blog. This is another great post and so heartfelt. I think of all the nights at the ball park with you kids and I just smile. Some of the best Zac Pack moments have come from that stadium! Enjoy your evening with Dad. It is well deserved. -Madre

    Reply
  4. I always wondered what that job would be like! Also, yes to swapping buttons…I’m not sure how to do it on your page though. Will you grab the code from mine or email me instructions? =(

    Reply
    • I’ll just grab your code :) Because of dumb wordpress restrictions I have to add buttons old-school style

      Reply
  5. That’s pretty awesome, in my hometown it was a super big deal if got to be the batboy for the Padres in high school. That was like a million years ago, not sure if this current generation gets excited about sports.

    Reply
  6. Fun! I’ve always wanted to work at a ball park! I wish I was more into MiLB since it’s wayyyy more affordable and personal but the MLB has my heart. Petco Park is like a 30/40 minute drive where as The Diamond (Strom’s stadium…Padres MiLB team) is about 1 hr away in the middle of nowhere. I try to get out there once a year but have failed miserably. Hopefully I make it out this summer!

    Bloghopping from Fan Friday :]
    martywiththeparty.blogspot.com

    Reply
    • Thank you for stopping by!! Don’t get me wrong…I love and always have loved the minor leagues, but MLB–ahem, the Red Sox–will always be my #1 :)

      Reply
  7. sounds like you are going to have such a blast! we have a minor league team in dallas but I never go and they are so fun! I need to so that!
    Helene in Between

    Reply
    • You definitely should!! The atmosphere is a lot different than a major league team…there’s a lot more fan interaction and it’s definitely more family friendly.

      Reply
  8. Aww that is awesome! Realizing what you want to do that young and finding such a love is great! Good for you.
    We have a minor league team in our town and it is a great way to get in some baseball without breaking the bank!

    Reply
  9. christineegarabedian

     /  June 22, 2013

    I chuckled out loud while reading this post like 3 times. You are the cutest!

    Reply
  10. So fun! I have a few friends on the Spinners dance team now, need to make it up there for a game! :)

    Reply
  1. I voted! And other weekend shenanigans. | Karoline With a "K"

Leave a Reply

