I voted! And other weekend shenanigans.

Overall, I had an uneventful but fun and (mostly) relaxing weekend. Friday was spent watching golf and baseball, on Saturday I voted early in the Massachusetts senate election and went to work, and Sunday meant a grad party and errands with my madre. It was a great kick off to summer!

Friday afternoon, my mom and I watched day two of The Cities, Lowell’s annual golf tournament between the three local golf clubs. We hung out on the lawn at our local course and had a great time hanging out on the lawn, talking to friends, and watching the golfers come in for the 18th hole! Also…I had a drink with a movie star!

DSC_0510 (1)

DSC_0505

Our view…isn’t it pretty?!

DSC_0507 - Version 2

It was fun watching the golfers come in!

Later that night, me and my dad went to the Spinners. It was the perfect night to watch a ball game and the Spinners ended up winning 4-0 while the pitchers combined for a 2-hitter. It was a great way to re-introduce myself to the ballpark as a fan!

DSC_0511

We’ve been enjoying driving with the top down and the doors off the Jeep!

DSC_0513

View from our seats at the game!

Then on Saturday, my family went to early voting for the MA senate race. It was my brother Tom’s first time voting in something that isn’t a primary, so that was a cool experience for him. I really love voting, I don’t care if it’s just a local election or for president, I just love getting out there and making sure my voice is heard.

DSC_0519

Tom after voting.

DSC_0526

Doing our civic duty!

After that, we went over to the Library so I can get cracking on that 100 books for my 30 before 30. I ended up getting Girls in White Dresses on the recommendation of Katie, a collection of funny little short stories called The Last Girlfriend on Earth, and a book on modern feminism called The End of Men: And the Rise of Women. The latter selection I think was heavily influenced on the feminist bent I took with my courses in my last semester at school. Just because I graduated doesn’t mean I have to leave the academic reading behind, right? If any of you have read these books yet, please don’t hesitate to let me know what you thought in the comments!

1003982_10201420760061336_1985935977_n

Oh, and I also bought that really creepy awesome Brad Marchand head at Target, and I can’t wait to figure out fun things to do with it. Like scare people. And bring it to the bar to watch game six of The Cup. Or sneak it into group photos…stay tuned!

How did you spend your weekend?

signature

today I’m linking up with Weekend Shenanigans!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. what a fun weekend!

    i read girls in white dresses awhile ago!

    that target find is hilarious :)

    Reply
    • karolinewithak

       /  June 24, 2013

      Thanks! I can’t wait to figure out things to do with that head! What did you think of Girls in White Dresses?

      Sent from my iPhone

      Reply
  2. Daniel Oconnor

     /  June 24, 2013

    Hy Karoline. As. A veteran would like to say thank you for voting. There are not an off people who take the time to do so. Dorothy and i were sorry you could not make It to the cap this weekend. We missed you and Mat. I have 2 books you may like first The Bernini Quest, second the Iznik Enigma both are from the same author Ann Port. (She is a friend of mine). Have a great week.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

